Mountain Musings – 1

Born in the lap of Aravalli hills, my love for mountains is as old as me. Every time I stand in front of a mountain, I feel at home. I have found greater home in the mountains than I have found anywhere else in the world.
I have started travelling recently. And the little world I have seen has made me realise that I belong nowhere but to Mother Earth. Whenever I visit a new place my heart beats like the kid who gets his favourite toy.

Aren’t places like toys? You are excited for them, you get them, you enjoy them and then you leave them for the next one. What remains is a memory of the moments you lived.

Mountains are my source of energy. A quick escape to rewind and rejuvenate. And today as I sit alone at Shimla, I thought of summarising what these mountains have taught me, in the little time I have spent with them:

– You can achieve the highest of heights but you should never leave your roots. Look at the mountains. Had they not been grounded would it be possible for them to achieve such heights? And don’t the mountains themselves force us to return to the roots even after having climbed so high. In the rat race of moving forward most of us often forget to stand and look back. Mountains have helped me do that.

– If there is peace, it is in the wilderness. When the cool breeze tangles your hairs, life’s most complex issues are untangled.

– Nothing lasts except you. Look at those mountain peaks, covered by the clouds but the strength of the peaks finds its way. If you have to rise higher you meet so many people on your journey. But in the end, it’s your ride and you have to manage it.

– Mountains have also made me a patient observer. Haven’t they been the sturdy and patient witnesses of failures and victories, life and death, prosperity and adversity. If they can, why can’t we?

After I have started to travel I have seen the change in me. I have started looking for peace and more importantly I have started valuing it. So hit the road, because the world has a lot to tell which you might not hear in the cacophony of your otherwise mundane life.

Leave a comment